A couple of weeks ago I heard from a client (friend) that has a site hosted on my reseller web server and he said something odd - he said he could access his web site from work but not from home. There's a ton of things that could cause that so I stuck it in the back of my head and went on. Well the other night I went through and updated the mambo installation on that server and was testing it out when suddenly I could no longer get a response from it. I also found I couldn't get a response from any site on that server, couldn't traceroute to it, etc.. I'd been put on their firewall blacklist. Ouch! And for what?
I got in touch with the support folks and they confirmed that their firewall did indeed think I was an evil hacker and sent me the logs to show what caused it:
Fri Jul 4 22:10:37 2008 lfd: mod_security triggered by 192.168.216.232 - 1 failure(s) in the last 75 secs
Fri Jul 4 22:10:37 2008 lfd: mod_security triggered by 192.168.216.232 - 2 failure(s) in the last 75 secs
Fri Jul 4 22:10:56 2008 lfd: mod_security triggered by 192.168.216.232 - 3 failure(s) in the last 100 secs
Fri Jul 4 22:13:05 2008 lfd: mod_security triggered by 192.168.216.232 - 4 failure(s) in the last 230 secs
Fri Jul 4 22:13:46 2008 lfd: mod_security triggered by 192.168.216.232 - 5 failure(s) in the last 275 secs
Fri Jul 4 22:13:47 2008 lfd: 5 (mod_security) login failures from 192.168.216.232 - *Blocked in csf*
Fri Jul 4 22:13:48 2008 lfd: alert email sent for 192.168.216.232
But.. I was just browsing the site! I wasn't trying to log into the site. I was just doing what a regular web surfer would do.
So after some digging around in the web server log files I found this:
- - [06/Jul/2008:20:18:48 -0700] "GET /%3C?php%20echo%20http://www.thedomain.org;?%3E/templates/247clean/images/favicon.ico HTTP/1.1" 406 341 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X; en-US; rv:1.8.1.11) Gecko/20071127 Firefox/2.0.0.11"
Ow... I should have caught that long ago when I was looking in the log files, but somehow didn't. My guess is that this was mangled up like this for a long while (I hadn't touched the offending file in at least a year) and the host changed their mod_security rules and started triggering the fun.
So the offending file was in the 247clean template (which is a great template.. they just slipped up on this bit of code..) here:
(in index.php)
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;><?php echo _ISO; ?>" />
<?php if ( $my->id ) { initEditor(); } ?>
<?php include($GLOBALS['mosConfig_absolute_path']."/templates/247clean/splitmenu.php"); ?>
<?php echo "<link rel=\"stylesheet\" href=\"$GLOBALS[mosConfig_live_site]/templates/$GLOBALS[cur_template]/css/template_css.css\" type=\"text/css\"/>" ; ?><?php echo "<link rel=\"shortcut icon\" href=\"$GLOBALS[mosConfig_live_site]/<?php echo $mosConfig_live_site;?>/templates/247clean/images/favicon.ico\" />" ; ?>
the favicon code could be hardcoded if you only have one site to something like:
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="favicon.ico" type="image/vnd.microsoft.icon">
...or if you have many sites and you want to reuse the template for all of them then:
<link rel="shortcut icon" href="<?php echo $mosConfig_live_site;?>/images/favicon.ico" />
also note the extra greater than character in the content-type tag..
Fixing that issue was easy enough, but... here's the worrisome thing.. anybody (or any web spiders) who visited the sites that I use this template on and clicked through more than 5 or 6 pages in a couple of minutes is now blacklisted by the host - and from what they say it's a long term blacklist.
Being blacklisted by your own host - because of a mambo template? Tuesday, July 08, 2008
Have Your Saycomments & trackbacks
The trackback URL for this entry is: Trackbacks are disabled for this entry
-
Commenting is not available in this weblog entry.